Say Goodbye to the Bad Things

I am a fan of the TV show “How I Met Your Mother”.  I didn’t get into the show until a few season into the run when I was in seminary in Kansas City.  But I quickly got caught up and have watched every episode since then.  I’m sure you will get several posts about the show and about the character Ted Mosby.  When I see the character of Ted, I see some of myself in him.

Last Monday’s episode had a scene that was very poignant and stuck with me.  To set the scene, Ted and Lily (one of Ted’s best friends) are talking about a list that Ted has written up about all the things he wants to enjoy one last time before he leaves New York for Chicago.  I love how Lily responds:

“You wrote all these things to say goodbye to but so many of them are good things.  Why not say goodbye to the bad things?  Say goodbye to all the times you felt lost.  To all the times it was a no instead of a yes.  To all the scrapes and bruises.  To all the heartache.  Say goodbye to all the things you really want to do for the last time….The good things will always be here waiting for you.”

I wish I had video of this but the words still hit home.  Bad things will come.  But I plan on holding onto the good things wherever I go because I know that God has blessed me a lot even when the bad things are around.

Leave a Reply

