Monday Musings

Sometimes on Mondays you just have a bunch of jumbled thoughts and some days it’s pretty coherent.  This is one of those jumbled thoughts kind of days.  Jumbled in the sense that I have a few things in my mind I could write about but nothing that is so sustained that I could write a lot about.  So here’s some things that I’m thinking through…

*I know for me it is hard to let go of hurt sometimes.  The more I’ve been hurt, the harder it is for me to let go.  I think this is something we all struggle with but i know for me it is something I struggle with.  I think sometimes it can be our identity if we let it.  We let that pain define us when that’s not what God wants.  He doesn’t want us defined by our pain.  He wants us to find our meaning in Him.  Jesus took on all the pain and suffering on the cross.  Pain should not be something we hold on to.  But it is a struggle to let go.  But the awesome thing is when I let go of that hurt and turn it over to God, I feel so much better.  I’m more myself again.  I’m more the person God has called me to be.  I can follow Christ better because I’m not weighed down by the hurt I was holding on to previously.

*I saw a tweet this past week by author and speaker Jon Acuff that stuck with me.  He said this :  “Sometimes God redeems your story by surrounding you with people who need to hear your past so it doesn’t become their future.” I’ve been on both sides of this.  I have heard stories from friends of mine that I learned from their past and I have shared my story with others and my past.  Not only is it a way to help others, but like I said earlier it’s a way of letting go hurt as well.  Seeing that tweet reminded me that I need to share my story more because of the awesomeness of how the Gospel intersects with my story and how it can intersect with others.

Leave a Reply

