Agent Coulson and Change

I’m a huge comic book/super hero fan.  I readily admit that.  I grew up reading comic books and have seen a lot of comic book movies in the theaters, especially the Marvel ones that have come out recently.  I have also gotten into the new TV show Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. that debuted this season.  For those that don’t know, S.H.I.E.L.D. is a unit that exists to explore and ascertain info about things that are unexplainable, handle bad guys & keep such things classified.  On this show, there is a team of agents led by Agent Phil Coulson.  Coulson is a character that appeared in some of the Marvel movies.  Initially, the character was just a bit player.  However, fans grew to love the character and got featured more and more.  In The Avengers movie that came out last year, Coulson died at the hands of Loki (Thor’s half brother).

There was a huge uproar and people wanted the character brought back to life (which happens in comic books regularly).  So he was and is made the leader of this new team of agents.  Of course, the story of how he’s back from death and such is still playing out (and probably will throughout the season).  In tonight’s episode, there was a poignant moment.  Agent Coulson was talking with Agent May (one of the agents a part of this team and someone who has known Coulson for a while).  Coulson mentioned to May how he doesn’t feel the same and says to her that he feels like he’s changed.  She tells him that he has changed and that you can’t go through what he went through without changing.  She reassures him that it is okay that he has changed.

We all go through things in our life that change us.  We don’t necessarily have happen what happened to Agent Coulson but we have experiences that change us.  We change as people.  I am not the same person today that I was six months ago or a year ago.  There are parts of me that are constant but there are things that have changed.  Hopefully, those things are for the better.  I hope that I’m more compassionate, more loving, more caring.  I hope that I’m becoming more like Jesus.  But I know it is a process.  It is not an overnight thing.  And like Agent Coulson has a scar from his encounter with Loki, I have scars from encounters I’ve had on my journey as I’m sure that you have scars from those things that you have faced.

Change is not always a bad thing.  It can be a good thing.  It is not an easy thing to be sure and a lot of times it does hurt.  But there is good that can come out of it.

Leave a Reply

