Doctor Who and Regeneration

50 years ago this weekend the television show Doctor Who premiered on the BBC in the United Kingdom.  It became a worldwide cultural phenomenon that has spanned the decades and the globe.  People around the world are faciniated about the adventures of the Doctor.

For those who may not know, here’s a brief description of the show:  the lead character is The Doctor, an alien who looks human who travels through time and space in what looks like an English police box (think old telephone box).  He travels with a companion (or several companions) and solve problems and fight villains who threaten the universe.

One of the key components of the story of Doctor Who is the Doctor’s ability to regenerate.  When the Doctor is near death (or some major tramatice event hapens) he regenerates into a new form.  He is still the Doctor, he just looks different and acts different.  He does retain the knowledge and memories prior so he is the same yet different.

When one thinks about regeneration and Christianity, one of the obvious things that comes to mind is 2 Corinthians 5:17: “Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creature; the old things have passed away; behold, new things have come.”  When we repent and confess our sins and turn our lives over to Jesus, we go from being spiritually dead to being spiritually alive.  We are made new.

Like the Doctor, we are still the same yet different.  We still have our memories of what our lives were like prior but we are different.  And I think that as we continue to follow Jesus and major events and circumstances come our way, we continue that change.

I am not the same person that I was in January, or five years ago, or ten years ago or even 25 years ago (when I first became a Christian) or before that.  There are different versions of me throughout the years yet I’m still me throughout.  There are people that know me through multiple portions of my life and there are some that only know me in one season of my life.  And I’m sure like how certain companions of the Doctor know him a certain way, there are some friends of mine that know me from a certain way.

But the cool thing is that throughout all the different changes in my life, God is at work in all of them.  He is constantly at work in my life molding me and changing me into what He wants me to be.  Sometimes that’s hard and sometimes it hurts.  But each times those life changing events happen, I come out on the other side of it changed and for the better.

It will be interesting to see what new adventures the new Doctor will have.  It will be more interesting to see what God has in store for me and what new adventures I will have.

Leave a Reply

