Being Thankful

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving and throughout all this month I’ve seen friends post things they have been thankful for throughout the month.  It is good to be reminded of the things God has blessed us with, not just this month but throughout the year.  Here are a few things that I am thankful for:

*Jesus Christ.  This has to be number one.  I wouldn’t be who I am or where I am without Him.  I was reminded again today how thankful I am for Him and what he has done.  That Jesus, fully God and fully man, came to Earth lived a perfect life, was tempted yet never sinned, died on the Cross to pay the penalty for my sins, rose from the grave three days later and is alive and well.  I’m not always the best follower of Jesus but I’m grateful that he forgives me when I repent of my sins and has changed me and continues to work in my life (through the Holy Spirit).

*Family and friends.  In good times and rough times, it’s good to rely on family and friends.  It is such a blessing to have those people in your life who love you and care about you.  Life is not meant to be lived alone but in community.  This is a great reminder of that.

*Church.  Ties right into family and friends and community.  We all need that that community of believers to encourage, exhort, spur one another in our walks with Christ.  It is important to be connected to a local body of believers and that’s key to be a part of a church.

*Fun activities.  I enjoy sports and video games, movies and TV shows, reading and writing.  There’s lots of cool things that are fun and entertaining and I enjoy doing.  And the cool thing is getting to enjoy that with others.

I hope that all of you have a great Thanksgiving and that as you celebrate with food and family (and football) that you take time to remember the blessings that God has provided and be thankful.

Leave a Reply

