Sunday Devotional: Matthew 18

“Then Peter came up and said to him, “Lord, how often will my brother sin against me, and I forgive him? As many as seven times?”Jesus said to him, “I do not say to you seven times, but seventy-seven times.” Matthew 18:21-22

2013 has been the year to learn (or relearn) about forgiveness, at least for me it was.  It’s hard to forgive sometimes, especially when you’ve been deeply hurt by someone you trust.  But when you’re reminded of how much God has forgiven you by forgiving your sins, it puts in perspective forgiving others.

I’ve been reading through Pete Wilson’s book Let Hope In.  In one chapter he talks about forgiveness.  Let me share with you a portion of that text:

“Sometimes forgiveness takes time.  Sometimes it takes so long you actually can’t remember the moment you did it.  You just kind of wake up one day, and when you think of that person, you’re surprised to discover that you don’t hate them near as much.  You realize you’ve actually started to forgive them without even consciously making a decision to.”

Forgiveness is not easy.  Sometimes it takes a long time.  Sometimes it takes a conscious effort before it gets to a point of it not being a conscious decision.  Sometimes the other person is sorry for hurting you, sometimes they are never sorry.  But, when you understand how much God has forgiven you, you are more able to forgive others.  2013 has taught me that.  I hope that in 2014 I’m better at forgiving others and loving on others who have been hurt.

Leave a Reply

