Faith in the Public Arena

I was checking Twitter last week when I saw something that caught my attention.  One of the people I follow on twitter is Jason Romano.  He works at ESPN as the Senior Manager of Social Media.  He is also a follower of Jesus.  He tweeted out some comments that Geno Auriemma, head basketball coach for the University of Connecticut Huskies.  Auriemma was responding in part to an assistant football coach that had just been hired at the university who had mentioned encouraging faith and religion with the team.

Here’s some of Auriemma’s comments:  “I don’t give a crap about religion when it comes to sports.  In fact, I think it’s stupid [to involve it]….I have a problem with people showing their religion in public. I have a real problem with that. And I don’t care what religion it is.”

Granted, I do not know if Auriemma is a Christian or not.  But what I would take exception to in his comments is the one statement when he said “I have a problem with people showing their religion in public.”  For me, my faith is all a part of who I am.  I cannot separate my faith in Jesus Christ from who I am.  One cannot compartmentalize their faith and exhibit it one area but not do it in another.  When I became a Christian, it was a matter of giving my whole life.  Now granted it’s not easy and God is still working in my life to make me more like Him but I’m called to share my faith with others.

If one is showing love, if one is serving, if one is showing grace and mercy, if one following Jesus, it will be in public as well as in private.  I pray that Auriemma will see these public expressions of faith as a good thing someday.

Leave a Reply

