My Visit to Busch Stadium

IMG_0426

Last night, I visited the “new” Busch Stadium and saw the Kansas City Royals play the St. Louis Cardinals.  That picture was the view from my seat.  I was at the game with one of my good friends from seminary and his wife.  They live about an hour east of St. Louis and he’s a huge Royals fan and she’s a converted Royals fan (she’s also a Cubs fan).  I got to spend a few days with them and that was a blessing and encouragement.

This was my first time at the “new” Busch Stadium.  My first ever MLB game was at the old Busch Stadium back on Labor Day 2002.  I had not been to a game in St. Louis since the stadium was opened in 2006.  I’ll say this, this stadium is better than the old one.  However, I wasn’t a huge fan of the stadium.  Granted, I didn’t do too much exploring on the main level as seats were upper deck.  And there was a great view from those seats.  The problem was it felt kind cramped to me and not as open.  For a newer stadium, would think there would be a little more openness.  Speaking of newer stadium, no wi-fi access.  Or better put, there were account to try to access but wouldn’t work.  For a stadium in 2014, that should be available.  And there wasn’t much food options in the upper deck, other stadiums I’ve been to have had better options, but like I said didn’t explore as much main concourse where they’re probably more options.

IMG_0435

As for the game itself, it was an entertaining game.  I was expecting it to be a pitchers duel between Royals ace James Shields and Cardinals’ Jaime Garcia.  But nope, turned out to be a slugfest.  Cards hit a couple of home runs, including a grand slam and a pinch hit home run.  Royals scored six runs in one inning and had a home run on their end as well.  The lead kept changing hands back and forth.  It took a run by the Royals in the top of the 9th to take the lead and the Royals’ closer Greg Holland to nail down the save in the 9th to get the win for the Royals.  It was a fun game and a great win to watch.

http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/gameday/index.jsp?gid=2014_06_03_kcamlb_slnmlb_1&mode=video&content_id=33410769&tcid=vpp_copy_33410769

I’ve now been to 5 MLB ballparks (Safeco Field-Seattle, Kauffman Stadium-Kansas City, Turner Field-Atlanta, Great American Ball Park-Cincinnati, Busch Stadium-St. Louis).  At some point, I hope to visit all the Major League stadiums.

Leave a Reply

