Sunday Devotional: Philippians 4:10-14

“I rejoiced in the Lord greatly that now at length you have revived your concern for me. You were indeed concerned for me, but you had no opportunity.  Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content.  I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound.  In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need.  I can do all things through him who strengthens me.  Yet it was kind of you to share my trouble.”

Everyone knows Philippians 4:13.  It’s one of the most well known and quoted verses in all of the Bible, and rightly so.  But it’s important to remember the other verses that are around it.  Paul was under house arrest in Rome.  He was writing to the church in Philippi.  The church had sent a gift to Paul to encourage him while in house arrest.  Paul wrote in response to that among other things.

Paul let the church know that he was relying on God through all things.  And Paul had went through a lot both good and bad.  But through it all God was with him.  That’s important to remember in our lives.  When things are high or when things are low, God is there.  When things are plenty or when things are few, God is there.  It is through God we receive strength to persevere.  It is through God we are blessed with life.  It is through God we are able to truly be the people God calls us to be.

This week, remember not only who provides the strength but that He is faithful through all times.

Leave a Reply

