Remembering Robin Williams

robin_williams_reference[1]

Yesterday evening the news broke that Robin Williams passed away.  To say that it was a shock was an understatement.  When it first popped up on twitter, I thought it was another internet hoax as those seem to generate every couple of months.  However, when the news was confirmed, I was saddened to hear it.  Even more so, I was sad to hear that it was a suicide.

There hasn’t been a point in my life where I don’t remember Robin Williams.  Growing up in the ’80s, it was kind of the beginning of the heyday for his career.  His TV show Mork and Mindy was on syndication and Nick at Night so I watched it occasionally.  One of the first movies I saw him in was Popeye because we owned a copy on it on VideoDisc (precursor to Laserdisc & DVDs).  But two movies that came out of the late 80s that I know him best for were Good Morning Vietnam and Dead Poets Society.  I grew up on those two films, especially Good Morning Vietnam because it was on regular play on cable (so I’d get the TV edited version which I kinda enjoyed more than the theatrical version).

Of course, he’ll always be known as the voice of Genie from Aladdin.  That stretch of Disney animated films was epic and his talents being a part of that was one of the reasons why.  When you think about that movie, you have to think about him.

Like with most comedic actors, there’s some work of his I liked and some I didn’t.  I wasn’t a big fan sometimes of his standup work but he definitely had comedic timing.  He was also a very good dramatic actor as well.

I feel for his family.  To suffer a loss like this is tragic.  It is a tragedy when a life is taken like this.  To be in a place where that feels like the only option is something I would never want anyone to feel.  There is always hope.  I’m grateful for my relationship with Jesus.  Because I know, if it wasn’t for that relationship, there have been times where I might have felt the same as he did.

Every day is precious.  Every day is a blessing.  I hope that we are all reminded of this and that we live each day to the fullest and are appreciative of the blessings that God has given to each of us.

Leave a Reply

