One Year Later

First birthday cupcake

Today is the one year anniversary of the beginning of the journey of this blog.  August 28, 2013 was as the title of that first post “The First Step” on the journey that this blog would take.  One year ago today I started this blog.  This is my 4th blog, after my LiveJournal, Xanga, and Blogspot.  Each of those blogs were different.  LiveJournal was my first ever blog that I started back in 2002 and new to blogging so it was all over the place.  The Xanga blog I started about a year to so later and was really more an online journal about my day to day life.  It went with me all over the country and overseas and lasted until last year when Xanga shut down.  The Blogspot blog was one that was started after a suggestion from a friend in Seattle to do a Sports and Faith blog.  That blog ended in part due to circumstances which led me to the point of starting this blog.

When I started this blog a year ago, I didn’t know what all this would be.  I had an idea but mainly I was looking for a fresh start to write.  A place to combine all my interests and talk about them.  A place where I could share about my journey and all that entailed.  That included such things as my faith journey and my creative journey.

Now, one year into the journey of this blog, I can look back and see a lot of cool things with this blog.  I don’t know how many people read this on a regular basis.  But I know for me it has been beneficial.  This blog has been a helpful tool along my journey the past year.  I’ve learned from those other blogs and they help contribute to what I feel is a more improved blog.

I don’t know what the future holds for the next year of this blog.  There are several weekly posts such as “Sunday Devotional” and “Thursday Quote Day” that help to bring some structure and regularity.  And I’m sure as things pop up along the way, there will be inspiration to write on them.  Whatever the case, I’m looking forward to what’s in store.

For those that have been on this journey with me, thank you.  I hope that you will continue with me.  For those that are just starting, welcome.  Feel free to comment here and share thoughts.

I’ll end with a quote (fitting for a Thursday).  It’s the same quote that I ended with a year ago, from the book The Hobbit.

“There is nothing like looking, if you want to find something. You certainly usually find something, if you look, but it is not always quite the something you were after.”

2 thoughts on “One Year Later

Leave a Reply

