Fitting In

I was driving around the other day and flipping through the radio stations.  I came across a song and listened to it.  It was catchy and got stuck in my head.  It was from the band Echosmith and the song is called “Cool Kids”.  The chorus goes like this:

“I wish that I could be like the cool kids cuz all the cool kids, they seem to fit in
I wish that I could be like the cool kids, like the cool kids
I wish that I could be like the cool kids cuz all the cool kids, they seem to get it
I wish that I could be like the cool kids, like the cool kids”

Growing up, I wasn’t necessarily a “cool kid”.  I was smart.  I wasn’t that big.  I wore glasses.  When I was a teenager, I wore braces.  On top of all that, I grew up about 30 minutes from where I went to school in another town.  So add all that together and I didn’t run in the “popular” crowd.  But growing up, I wanted to be a part of the popular crowd.  I wanted to fit in with them.  Now eventually as I grew up and matured, I eventually became friends with the popular kids and when I was a senior I was “cool” in my own right but that feeling of being on the outside still lingered.

As I’ve gotten older, I’ve seen how there are still times when I feel out of place, when I don’t feel like I fit in.  I think that’s a part of life.  It’s something we all go through.  We all see people we know who seem to be the “cool kids”.  The ones that seem to have everything going their way.  They seem to know what is going all and get it.  But the thing is, they have struggles too.  We may not be able to see it but they struggle with feeling like they’ve got it or that they fit in with whatever crowd they spend time with.

It should be in those time where we feel alone, where we feel like we don’t fit in, that we should seek out friends to encourage and to share with our struggles.  We’re all in this together.  Especially as Christians, we’re called to be in community, to be a part of a church family.  If there’s anyplace we should be able to fit in, it’s the church.  Because we’re all on the same level when it comes to following Jesus.

 

Leave a Reply

