Remembering Auschwitz

Auschwitz Gate

Today is the 70th anniversary of the liberation of the Auschwitz Concentration Camp from the Nazis by the Soviet Army.  It was at Auschwitz that over a million people including Jews, Poles, Roma (Gypsies), prisoners of war & others were tortured and killed.  It is one of the most despicable acts done in history.

Auschwitz Sign

I visited the city of Oswiecim where the remnants of Auschwitz back in 2009.  I was in Poland for that summer as an intern as part of my work for my master’s of divinity.  There was a group of us that worked together that took a trip down from Krakow where we were working to visit Auschwitz.

It was an eerie feeling to say the least.  I remember walking through the camp and just feeling sadness and remorse.  My heart broke for all those lives that were lost there.  I was angry at the Nazis for what they had done.  I didn’t say much throughout our time there.  I just took it all in and contemplated.

It was a place that was a stark reminder of the depravity of sin.  It was also a reminder of the hope that exists even in the midst of such darkness.  Even in such a place as this, God was still there.  He was still in control.  Like how the Nazis were eventually defeated, sin will ultimately be defeated because of the work that Jesus did on the cross.

To this day, I still remember my visit to Auschwitz.  It is something that will always be a part of me.  On a day like today, I’m reminded again of its significance.  May we never forget.

Auschwitz

Leave a Reply

