Random Thoughts: Favorite Songs with Days of the Week in the Title

I was in the car morning and I had a random thought that popped in my head.  I was thinking about it being Monday and then random songs popped in my head that had Monday in them.  And then I thought about other songs that had days of the week in the titles and I thought about what my favorites were.  So I figured I would write down and share what my favorites are.  Some days are easier to find in songs than others so I had to do a little research.  But here they are.  I start with the first day of the week, Sunday.

Sunday:  “Sunday Bloody Sunday” by U2

I’m a huge U2 fan and this is one of my favorite songs of theirs.  The story behind the song is that it refers to the ‘Bloody Sunday’ incident in Northern Ireland where 14 people were killed at a protest march.  To this day, the song is one of the most popular U2 songs.

 

Monday:  “Rainy Days and Mondays” by The Carpenters

This was the song that prompted this thought trail.  It never fails if it’s a rainy day or a Monday (or especially both) that the chorus of this song gets stuck in my head.  It is a pretty iconic song and good easy listening.

 

Tuesday:  “Tuesday’s Gone” by Lynyrd Skynyrd

Off of the top of my head, this was the only song I could think of with Tuesday in the title.  And considering I like Lynyrd Skynyrd, it’s not a bad way to go.

 

Wednesday:  “Wednesday” by Tori Amos

One of the hardest days to find a song was Wednesday.  The main reason being that there aren’t that many songs that have Wednesday in the title.  But I did find this one by Tori Amos and it’s pretty good.

 

Thursday:  “Thursday” by Jim Croce

You want to know another day that doesn’t have many songs named after it?  Thursday.  I had to go searching and came across this song by Jim Croce.

 

Friday:  “Friday I’m in Love” by The Cure

I’m really glad that I didn’t have to go with “Friday” by Rebecca Black.  This song by The Cure is much, much better.  It’s probably the one song that I know well from the band but it’s a good song to know.

 

Saturday:  “Saturday Night’s Alright for Fighting” by Elton John

Saturday has a lot of songs with it in the title.  But I went with “Saturday Night’s Alright for Fighting” by Elton John.  Especially during college football season, I think of this song for some reason.  I guess because it’s like the song kinda fits the game.

 

So that’s what I came up with.  A random thought leads to a random post.

Leave a Reply

