It’s A Beautiful Thing: The World Series Champions Kansas City Royals

IMG_0079

Today is the celebration in Kansas City for the first World Series title for the Royals since 1985.  It was a culmination of years of hard work & perseverance.  It was also a day that was a long time coming.  I lived in Kansas City for 3 1/2 years.  I got to see the beginnings of what has resulted in this magical season.  I got to see Alex Gordon develop into the Gold Glove left fielder.  I got to see Lorenzo Cain & Alcides Escobar brought in after a huge trade that sent a Cy Young award winner (Zack Grienke) in return.  I got to see Eric Hosmer’s debut.  I personally heard GM Dayton Moore speak and heard not only his heart as a GM but also as a man and as a Christian leader.

Sometimes it takes those years of struggle to get to the point of celebration.  The Royals suffered for decades before getting to this point where they are celebrating.  And there are times in our lives where we have struggles and tough times and that will help us to grow and make us better and more like Christ.

I’m so happy for my KC friends that got to be at the parade.  I’m happy that all the hard work and effort has paid off in a World Series championship for this team.  And it was so cool that I got to see what the beginning efforts of the process that has led to this day.  Congrats Royals, you deserve this.

Leave a Reply

