Friday Favorites: Favorite Animated Movie of 2015

It’s Friday (and it’s been awhile) so it’s time for “Friday Favorites”.  This time around, my Friday Favorite is “Favorite Animated Movie of 2015”.  That movie is one that I saw this week and it is The Peanuts Movie:

The Peanuts Movie

Now everyone that know me knows that I love Charlie Brown, Snoopy and all the Peanuts gang.  I grew up on the comic strip.  I watched all the cartoon specials, TV shows and movies.  So I was super excited when I heard this new movie was coming out.

Like any cherished property, there is a concern about whether it gets things right.  Does it capture the heart, the essence of what made it so special in the first place.  Given that this film was written by Charles Schultz’s son & grandson, the story was in good hands and it showed.  This film had the heart of the old comic strip.  It captured the essence of who Charlie Brown is.  It showed the great imagination of Snoopy.  It captured the personality of Lucy so well.  All the characters were real and honest to who they are in the comic strip.

Sure it’s all flashy and modern with CGI animation, but the heart of the story sticks true to the source material.  And that was what made it awesome for me.  I wish that more movies would take a page from The Peanuts Movie and remember the heart of the things while they’re telling new stories.

If you haven’t seen it, go see The Peanuts Movie.  It is well worth the price of admission.  It was my favorite animated film of 2015 and probably top 3 films overall of the year.

Leave a Reply

