Sunday Devotional: Psalm 43

Vindicate me, O God, and defend my cause
    against an ungodly people,
from the deceitful and unjust man
    deliver me!
For you are the God in whom I take refuge;
    why have you rejected me?
Why do I go about mourning
    because of the oppression of the enemy?

Send out your light and your truth;
    let them lead me;
let them bring me to your holy hill
    and to your dwelling!
Then I will go to the altar of God,
    to God my exceeding joy,
and I will praise you with the lyre,
    O God, my God.

Why are you cast down, O my soul,
    and why are you in turmoil within me?
Hope in God; for I shall again praise him,
    my salvation and my God.”  (Psalm 43)

There are times when we get discouraged.  There are times when we feel beat down by life.  We feel cast down.  We feel in turmoil.  But the good news is we don’t have to be alone in this.  We can turn to God.  He can give us refuge in those tough times.  He can comfort in those times of mourning.  He can lift us up when we feel cast down.  He can give us peace when we are in turmoil.

We can hope in God.  We can praise God because of this.  He gives us salvation.  He gives us rest.  This week, no matter what you’re going through, you can hope in God.  Give thanks for Him and who He is and what He has done and will do.

Leave a Reply

