Thoughts on the Retirement of Matt Hasselbeck

This week has seen a lot of retirements in the NFL.  Some that were pretty big names like Peyton Manning and Calvin Johnson.  But the announcement of the retirement of Matt Hasselbeck probably won’t get as much attention but is one that resonates with me.

Matt Hasselbeck

Flash back to the fall of 2005.  I had moved to Seattle in January of that year and had made it my home.  I had the opportunity to go to the Sunday Night game that season against the Houston Texans.  That was the first time I got to watch Hasselbeck play in person (and first time to see a Seahawks game in person).  That was one of the coolest experiences I have had at a sporting event and I still remember how loud it was when the Seahawks scored over and over again.  I fell in love with that team and that is why I still root for them to this day.  I also became a huge Hasselbeck fan.  He led the team that season to their first Super Bowl appearance (and I contend to this day that they should’ve won that Super Bowl if the refs hadn’t blown several big calls).  He was one of my favorite QBs and always enjoyed watching him play.

After he left Seattle, I was happy when he landed in Tennessee and played several seasons with the Titans.  And although he ended up finishing his career with division rival Indianapolis, I still rooted for him personally.

As great a player as he was, he was just as great if not more as a person.  He is a strong believer and follower of Jesus and lives out his faith in a way that is a strong encouragement.  He is a great family man as well.

He has a great opportunity joining the broadcast team at ESPN.  I wish him nothing but the best and know he’ll do a great job there.  Thank you Matt for a great career.  I cherish my Seahawks Hasselbeck jersey that is in my closet and still break it out sometimes for big time Seahawks games.  May God continue to bless you and your family and thank you for the wonderful memories that Seahawks fans will cherish for a long time.

Leave a Reply

