Sunday Devotional: 1 Corinthians 15:1-11

“Now brothers, I want to clarify for you the gospel I proclaimed to you; you received it and have taken your stand on it. You are also saved by it, if you hold to the message I proclaimed to you—unless you believed for no purpose.  For I passed on to you as most important what I also received:

that Christ died for our sins
according to the Scriptures,
that He was buried,
that He was raised on the third day
according to the Scriptures,
and that He appeared to Cephas,
then to the Twelve.
Then He appeared to over 500 brothers at one time;
most of them are still alive,
but some have fallen asleep.
Then He appeared to James,
then to all the apostles.
Last of all, as to one abnormally born,
He also appeared to me.

For I am the least of the apostles, unworthy to be called an apostle, because I persecuted the church of God. But by God’s grace I am what I am, and His grace toward me was not ineffective. However, I worked more than any of them, yet not I, but God’s grace that was with me. Therefore, whether it is I or they, so we proclaim and so you have believed.”  (1 Corinthians 15:1-11)

This passage written by Paul one of his letters to the Corinthians church was in essence the Gospel message.  Paul shared with the Corinthians what was at heart of the message: Christ.  Jesus Christ, who died for our sins and who was resurrected.  This death and resurrection was foretold according to the scriptures.  And that there were eyewitnesses to this resurrection.

This is the message that the apostles proclaimed.  It is the message that Paul proclaimed.  It is the message that we are to proclaim.  And through the grace of God we have received this message and believe it.  And we are called to share this message as well.  This week, let us remember the message that we have been given.  That Jesus Christ died for our sins and was resurrected according to the scriptures.  And by that we are able to repent and receive forgiveness and believe.

Leave a Reply

