Patience and Forgiveness

Patience.  That is a word that I struggle with very much.  As I’ve mentioned before, I’m not a patient person.  I’m better than I used to be but still not what I want to be.  I want to go when sometimes I have to wait.  And sometimes that means waiting a long time, way longer than I want to but sometimes that is what is required.

I was pondering this today.  Showing patience and showing forgiveness are similar.  They are both hard to do but the the benefits are great.  When we show patience with one another, our relationships develop and grow.  We are able to work things out in a way that not showing patience allows.

We all know the Golden Rule (And as you wish that others would do to you, do so to them.  Luke 6:31 ESV).  I think we all want people to show us patience.  We should be mindful of this and show patience with others.  I think this is a lesson I’ve learned the hard way.  I want patience shown to me but sometimes I don’t in turn show patience with others.  It’s not fun on the other end of that equation.  Like forgiveness, sometimes you may show patience to someone and they do not show patience in return.  But that shouldn’t deter you from continuing to show patience just like it shouldn’t deter from forgiving someone if they do not forgive you in return.

This season in my life is making me learn patience more so than any other time in my life.  Not just patience for me to wait on the Lord for providing but also in showing patience to others.  No matter who you are or what stage of life you are in, that is a lesson to learn and apply.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.