Sunday Devotional: Habakkuk 3:17-19

“Though the fig tree should not blossom,
nor fruit be on the vines,
the produce of the olive fail
and the fields yield no food,
the flock be cut off from the fold
and there be no herd in the stalls,
yet I will rejoice in the Lord;
I will take joy in the God of my salvation.
God, the Lord, is my strength;
he makes my feet like the deer’s;
he makes me tread on my high places”  (Habakkuk 3:17-19)

Old Testament prophets knew about hard times.  Many of them suffered hardships in being faithful to the message God had called them to preach.  Many of them were lonely.  Many of them were ignored.  But regardless of the tough times they went through, they were faithful in serving God and were faithful in preaching the message given to them.

Habakkuk shares here that even though tough times may come, one can still rejoice in the Lord.  He knows that the source of his strength comes from the Lord.  He knows that the source of his salvation comes from the Lord.  Even when there is suffering and hardship, God is there.  Even when there is loneliness and heartbreak, God is there.

This week, let us remember that God is with us.  He loves us and He is our source of strength and salvation if we just trust Him and follow Him.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.